CD review TODD LA TORRE ‘Rejoice in the Suffering’

That Todd La Torre is an excellent singer is known at the latest since he joined Queensrÿche. However, La Torre can not only rely on his powerful voice, but can also build on skills regarding guitar and drums. In a time when touring activities have come to a complete standstill, the frontman has decided to use the time available to work on his solo album.

‘Rejoice in the Suffering’ is the title of Todd La Torre’s solo debut and it raises the question to what extent the songs on this album might cross over with Queensrÿche. Well, we can state that the overlap is overseeable. Of course it is La Torre’s voice that is in the center of attention and we are talking about heavy metal. But here the parallels already end.

‘Rejoice in the Suffering’ is more anchored in traditional heavy metal and power metal. When I first listened to the album, bands like Judas Priest came to my mind. What La Torre delivers together with his longterm friend Craig Blackwell is pure energy. The songs on the album find the right level of intensity and melody, a mixture that unfolds its fascination already during the first time of listening.

With Chris ‘Zeuss’ Harris at the helm, a very experienced producer has also taken care of ‘Rejoice in the Suffering’, which provides the longplayer with a powerful sound. On this disc everything fits together. Songs, sound and dynamics catch the listener from beginning to finish. La Torre provides his solo debut with a punch and a liveliness that one also wishes from Queensrÿche. Headbangers who enjoy good riffs, strong melodic arcs and a great voice should definitely check out ‘Rejoice in the Suffering’. Headbanging music.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Dogmata
  2. Pretenders
  3. Hellbound and Down
  4. Darkened Majesty
  5. Crossroads to Insanity
  6. Critical Cynic
  7. Rejoice in the Suffering
  8. Vexed
  9. Vanguards of the Dawn Wall
  10. Apology
  11. Fractured (Bonus Track)
  12. Set it Off (Bonus Track)
  13. One by One (Bonus Track)

Label: Rat Pak Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 5th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: