Review EMISSARY OF SUFFERING ‘Mournful Sights’

The two people behind Emissary Of Suffering are Mattias Rasmusson and Nils Groth, both of whom are no strangers to the scene, as they have played in different bands. With ‘Mournful Sights’ the duo have their first album at the start, an eight-song record which, according to the protagonists, is based on influences from Iron Maiden, Death and Dismember, but also does not try to hide some influences from hardcore and punk.

Death metal is the leading direction here, which is immediately backed up with the opener ‘Total Void’. Oldschool Swedish death metal forms the foundation for this heavy loaded debut in which a raging ferocity breaks its way. Yet it’s also apparent that tempo changes lead to some grooving moments.

‘Mournful Sights’ doesn’t sparkle with excessive length. 28 minutes are certainly not entering the history of heavy metal as being the longest debut album. However, each of these nearly 30 minutes is an ode to extreme metal. It is worth mentioning the brute title track, where one has the impression to have turned on Radio Station 666, broadcasting right from the abyss. Deadly riffs and a massive wall of sound make the song a good ambassador for the album and a title track that deserves to be called that.

‘Abattoir’ delivers interesting tempo variations before the duo delivers another musical steam hammer with ‘Enemies of Reality’, where the emphasis is not so much on tempo but an intensity that takes its power from riffs and massive rhythms. In addition some progressive elements give this massive metal beast and extra layer that adds an extra to the total.

‘Mournful Sights’ is a well done first offering. If you are into skilled, well-made death metal the Swedish way, you should definitely give this album a listen.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Total Void
  2. Rope
  3. Mournful Sight
  4. Samaritan
  5. Privilege
  6. Abbatoir
  7. Enemies of Reality
  8. Cura Animarum Suprema Lex

Label: Cold Knife Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: September 24th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: