CD review MÖRK GRYNING ‘Hinsides Vrede’

Not being shy of a catchy melody, Swedish black metal merchants Mörk Gryning finished work on their new studio album, entitled ‘Hinsides Vrede’.

The band started back in 1993 and can be looked at as being veterans when it comes to Swedish black metal. The debut album was unleashed in 1995 and up to date the band added not more than five records to the books, mainly due to a eleven years hiatus.

‘Hinsides Vrede’ is Mörk Gryning sixth full-length record and the first longplayer in 15 years. After having signed with Season Of Mist, the new album is the first release for the new label, featuring a twelve songs tracklisting that includes also intro, outro and several interludes.

Generally spoken, Mörk Gryning fires on all cylinders. Harsh black metal tracks with edges compete with well-crafted melodies in a good fashion. Actually it’s less of a competition between the two poles. It’s more a mutual support that makes songs like ‘Infernal’ to a eerie metal anthem. A kind of ‘humpa-riff’ starts ‘A Glimpse of the Sky’, a song that evolves to a throbbing metal hymn, with a chorus being made for live shows.

To ensure enough hellish blasts, tracks like ‘Fältherren’ and ‘The Night’ don’t take prisoners with a tempo that is breath-taking. ‘Without Crown’ doesn’t know brakes either and what makes the song even heavier is the piano-interlude that found a spot on tracklist, prior to ‘Without Crown’. Sounds collide, in a good way.

‘Hinsides Vrede’ is the return of a band that has roots in the early days of black metal. On the one hand being harsh and savage and on the other hand fragilely handling the piano interludes, Mörk Gryning creates an interesting sound constellation that never leaves the black metal roots but challenges the frames at the same time.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The Depths of Chinnereth
  2. Fältherren
  3. Existence in a Dream
  4. Infernal
  5. A Glimpse of the Sky
  6. Hinsides
  7. The Night
  8. Sleeping in the Embers
  9. For Those Departed
  10. Without Crown
  11. Black Spirit
  12. On the Elysian Fields

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Melodic Black Metal

Release Date EU: October 23rd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: