CD review JAKKO M. JAKSZYK ‘Secrets & Lies’

Music is more than a combination of notes, chords and rhythms. Those are important factors and they are the toolkit for starting a liason with feelings and emotions. It’s about music that touches you, from rock to black metal. A whiz in stringing all this together is Jakko Jakszyk.

Jakszyk’s interest for music started at the young age of 13 years when he saw King Crimson the first time live on stage. It was the trigger for becoming a professional musician and he managed to turn the dream into reality.

The multi-instrumentalist released various solo albums of which ‘A Scarcity of Miracles’ was a crucial one. Jakszyk worked together with no less than Robert Fripp and Mel Collins, both being part of King Crimson. The two icons had some time left with the mothership being on a hiatus in 2011. The circle was kind of complete when Jakszyk became a member of King Crimson the moment the band re-started in 2013.

Next to his engagement with King Crimson, the guitarist also worked on a next solo album. ‘Secrets & Lies’ is the title of this eleven songs comprising longplayer, filled with excellent music. There is melancholic ‘The Rotters Club is Closing Down’ with a gently singing guitar, ‘Fools Mandate’ with the oriental subnote and the swinging ‘Before I Met You’ with a bit of a jazz appeal. ‘Under Lock & Key’ brings back the calmer moments while ‘Separation’, originally penned by Fripp for King Crimson, is marrying progressive rock and jazz, strengthened by Mel Collins saxophone.

‘Secrets & Lies’ is an emotional album and the fact that Jakszyk can make use of a larger musical toolkit allows him to craft songs that are timeless and beautiful. It’s the fragile sections as well as the rocking parts that interact in perfection, creating a flow that one has to enjoy with headphones on. This album is an escape from daily routines and hectic.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Before I Met You
  2. The Trouble With Angels
  3. Fools Mandate
  4. The Rotters Club Is Closing Down
  5. Uncertain Times
  6. It Would All Make Sense
  7. Secrets, Lies & Stolen Memories
  8. Under Lock & Key
  9. The Borders We Traded
  10. Trading Borders
  11. Separation

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Progressive Rock

Release Date EU: October 23rd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: