CD review LEAVES’ EYES ‘The Last Viking’

New dish, same recipe. That’s how you can look at the new delivery from Leaves’ Eyes. This doesn’t mean that ‘The Last Viking’ is a less good album compared to others and f you are into records like ‘King of Kings’ you will also like Leaves’ Eyes newest delivery.

‘The Last Viking’ is telling the story that happened in 1066 when King Harald, also known as Hardråde, was in a moribund state when he recalled things that defined his life: battles, power struggles, exotic worlds and kings and emperors facing decay. The moment he took his final breath was that the last viking died.

Leaves’ Eyes, and their know preciseness for historical facts, tell the story in 14 chapters/songs. Musically , ‘The Last Viking’ builds on a what’s known from the band and expected from fans. Alex Krull and Elina Siirala deliver the growls and clean vocals setup, songs are bombastic and with pathos, all with a melody and hooks being the earworm element that’s weaved into the songs.

‘The Last Viking’ builds on the blueprint for Leaves’ Eyes records and therefor will be appreciated by fans that dig the earlier releases. They will like the newest longplayer too. The band stay true to their musical trademarks and represent those on the newest offer in excellent fashion. Continuity wins over progressiveness and twists, something not too bad in a world of constant change.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Death Of A King
  2. Chain Of The Golden Horn
  3. Dark Love Empress
  4. Serpents And Dragons
  5. Black Butterfly (feat. Clémentine Delauney)
  6. War Of Kings
  7. For Victory
  8. Two Kings One Realm
  9. Flames In The Sky
  10. Serkland
  11. Varangians
  12. Night Of The Ravens
  13. The Last Viking
  14. Break Into The Sky Of Aeon 

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Symphonic Metal

Release Date EU: October 23rd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: