Review CLUTCH ‘Sunrise on Slaughter Beach’

Rock heavyweights Clutch have with ‘Sunrise at Slaughter Beach ‘ a new album in the starting blocks. One thing right away; with 33 minutes playing time, the new record is not overly long as far as playing time is concerned. With pleasure a 10th song could have found a place on the setlist, but well. This is not the case and therefore the fans of the four-piece from Germantown, Maryland have to be pleased with nine heavy rock stompers.

‘Sunrise at Slaughter Beach’ is the follow-up to 2018’s ‘Book of Bad Decisions’ and ends the longest wait between longplayers to date.

Originally, the new album was supposed to be a kind of antithesis to the uncertainty and polarization during the years of the pandemic. However, not everything can be predicted and an organic process of creation sometimes takes unexpected turns. The longer the band worked on the album, songs took form and revealed a different basic direction.

‘Sunrise at Slaughter Beach’ is on one hand a typical Clutch album. Heavy riffs, a buzzing groove and Neil Fallon’s voice characterize the sound of the new album. In addition, new elements also join the sound of the quartet. Vibraphone, theremin and female background vocals found a place on ‘Sunrise at Slaughter Beach’ and suit the band well. Tracks like ‘Mercy Brown’ gain from this, but also provide a bit of a challenge.

Without any bells and whistles, on the other hand, comes the smashing ‘We Strive for Excellence’ out of the speakers. In less than three minutes the band presents a rock volcano that makes its way into the listener’s mind with elemental force. Also ‘Skeletons on Mars’ enjoys a higher tempo before ‘Three Golden Horns’ comes along with a fascinating heaviness, which is potentiated by ‘Jackhammer Our Names’.

‘Sunrise at Slaughter Beach’ has become a versatile album, a record that holds a few little surprises. Nevertheless, Clutch remain true to themselves and their sound without standing still.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Red Alert (Boss Metal Zone)
  2. Slaughter Beach
  3. Mountain Of Bone
  4. Nosferatu Madre
  5. Mercy Brown
  6. We Strive for Excellence
  7. Skeletons On Mars
  8. Three Golden Horns
  9. Jackhammer Our Names

Label: Weathermaker Music

Genre: Heavy Rock

Release Date EU: September 16th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: