Review WOLF ‘Shadowland’

Swedish metal enthusiasts Wolf started in 1995, a time that wasn’t that much made for real heavy metal. Too many other genres were on their way to a peak, but Wolf was brave enough to take the challenge. The guys invested in their interpretation of heavy metal which is a more traditional view.

The quartet premiered in 1999 with their self-titled album and since then became a constant player in the fields of metal. After having released records on a rather consistent base, Wolf took six year to work on ‘Feeding the Machine’.

The driving force of Wolf today is singer and guitarist Niklas Stålvind, the only remaining founding member. A total new rhythm section joined in 2019 and after having let their eight longplayer off the leash in 2020 the next record is on its way the record stores.

Photo: Per Knutsson

‘Shadowland’ is the title of this longplayer and showcases a band that is back with full force. A total of ten songs are a delight for metalheads that don’t need much more than solid riff, good melodies, and a powerful beat, all offered by the opener ‘Dust’. Inspired by the New Wave of British Heavy Metal the song is a tight piece of metal music that sets the tone of voice for the entire album.

Although having a lot straight-ahead songs on the album, like ‘Evil Lies’ and ‘Trial By Fire’, the album shows a lot versatility. There is the dark and evil roaring ‘Rasputin’ with an excellently crafted chorus. ‘The Time Machine’ is more of a complex track that made it on the album. Equipped with a few twists, the song doesn’t unveil all details right away and it needs time to dive into this six-minute tune. Also, not to forget is ‘The Ill-Fated Mr. Mordrake’, a powerful metal anthem that blossoms in black.

Wolf stay true to their roots and their sound. Traditional heavy metal, that is what the band is known for and that is what their new effort provides. These ten songs are leather and denim metal and nothing else. True and authentic music, built on passion and dedication.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Dust
  2. Visions For the Blind
  3. Rasputin
  4. Exit Sign
  5. Seek The Silence
  6. Shadowland
  7. The Ill-Fated Mr. Mordrake
  8. The Time Machine
  9. Evil Lies
  10. Into The Black Hole
  11. Trial By Fire

Label: Century Media

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: April 1st, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: