Review FARGO ‘Strangers D’Amour’

Timing is often everything. Being at the right moment at the right place is as good as delivering the right album at the right time. ‘Stranger D’Amour’ is such an album that fits perfectly into the European summer season.

Fargo, the name says it already, is the brainchild of Fargo Peter Knorn. ‘Fargopedda’, together with his bandmates Peter Ladwig (v/g) and Nikolas Fritz (d), can build on a longtime experience and at the same time keep the rock’n’roll spirit alive. The Hannover-based band has with ‘Stranger D’Amour’ a new album in the starting blocks, ready to rock the world.

It was back in 2018 when Fargo returned with a new longplayer, entitled ‘Constellation’. The record was very well received by fans and media and one of the benefits of Frago’s music is the authenticity. This trio wants to play straight-to-the-heart rock music and they do it in a way that delights right away. Frills and gimmicks are what will not find on this album. Instead, you get eleven songs that are hard rocking, melodic and catchy. We talk about goodtime music that blossoms right away.

The party starts with ‘Rain of Champagne’, a vivid song that grooves and appeals. The song also sets the scene for the other ten tracks, all pounding rock songs of which ‘Gimme That Bone’ is one off. The by far longest track on the album is called ‘Time’. Making time for ‘Time’ is a good thing since the tune is a slower paced and extremely grooving hard rock track that has a lot to offer.

‘Law of the Jungle’ is a hard-hitting rocker with an excellently crafted chorus that leads to the soulful and melancholic ‘Homesick’. Ballads are often following standard approach and although ‘Homesick isn’t a revolution either, it is the emotional aspect that catches you. And there is ‘Car Expert’, a roaring hard rock song with style and a story about the pleasure a car can bring to you, in a way. But it’s not only this kind of lyrics Fargo wrote for their songs. There is e.g., ‘Closer to the Sun’, addressing the topic of the serious mistreat of nature and environment

‘Strangers D’Amour’ is in a way an oldschool hard rock album that fits into the present in a great fashion. The eleven songs are timeless rock tunes that provide a lot of ease during hot summer days and nights. Let’s get this party started.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Rain of Champagne
  2. Gimme That Bone
  3. Close to the Sun
  4. Time
  5. Mary Says
  6. Law of the Jungle
  7. Homesick
  8. Dear Miss Donna Vetter
  9. No Reason to Cry
  10. Car Expert
  11. Why Don’t You

Label: Streamhammer

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: June 25th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: