Review THE CEO ‘Redemption’

A CEO is defined as Chief Executive Officer and the definition is now enlarged with The CEO also being a metal band, hailing from the US. The Georgia-based powerhouse features with Vince Hornsby the bassist from Sevendust, who together with his bandmates Chase Brown, Beau Anderson and Joseph Herman stands for The CEO and band that is the brainchild of frontman and singer Mack Mullins.

The start of The CEO suffered from bad timing, related to circumstances of an upcoming pandemic. It was a soft announcement in March 202 that was spread, one week before the world turned into something different.

The CEO is performing modern metal that includes inspiration from the grunge era as well as heavy sounds that reminds partly of bands like Alter Bridge. The first single ‘Redemption’ is such a song that, produced by Michael Baskette, shows this alternative metal groove. Metal and rock blends into each other with ‘Dirty Tragic’ being more rooted in rock’n’roll. From the dynamic swing of rock’n’roll to the darker moments of ‘Alive’ isn’t more than just a click. ‘Alive’ has an excellent chorus that allows for some chanting during live shows, while the verse is dark and hereby a great contrast. ‘Work of Heart’ is more of an average song on the album before ‘Casting Shadows’ shows that The CEO can do better than what they deliver with ‘Work at Heart’.

The CEO provides solid alternative rock/metal and although each of the twelve songs doesn’t turn the world upside down, fans of alternative rock can welcome a longplayer that delivers to expectation which includes a good entertainment factor. Let’s see how the brand of The CEO further evolves over time.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Twin Flame
  2. Behind These Eyes
  3. Redemption
  4. Black Hearts
  5. Dirty Tragic
  6. The Storm
  7. Alive
  8. Beginning & the End
  9. Bourbon Straight
  10. Work of Heart
  11. Casting Shadows
  12. Alone and Dead

Label: Rat Pak Records

Genre: Alternative Rock/Metal

Release Date: June 25th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: