CD review ANNEKE VAN GIERSBERGEN ‘The Darkest Skies are the Brightest’

Anneke van Giersbergen’s start with The Gathering in 1994 changed a lot for the Dutch singer. With her fascinating voice, van Giersbergen was an enrichment for the band and the popularity of both, band and van Giersbergen, grew constantly. However, other bands are also closely associated with the name of the singer, thinking of Vuur and The Gentle Storm.

Some years ago, the singer has released solo albums under her own name and eight years after ‘Drive’, her new album ‘The Darkest Skies are the Brightest’ hits the shelves. In contrast to some other releases, the new record is a lot calmer and more thoughtful. It’s not the loud riffs that set the tone. Rather it is van Giersbergen’s voice, acoustic guitar, horns and percussion that provide a lot of emotions and soul. Already through the instrumentation it becomes apparent that this album is completely built on feelings.

‘The Darkest Skies are the Brightest’ is an record with very intimate moments. This does not automatically mean that we are dealing with a quiet album. The ‘I Saw A Car’ and ‘Lo and Behold’, equipped with a stomping beat, show that even with this stripped-down instrumentation a lot of energy can be generated.

Besides these type of songs, it’s the very sensitive and almost fragile moments like in ‘Losing You’ that give evidence of heartbreak, resulting in inspiration for the longplayer. This record is a way of coming to terms with feelings and a failed relationship. Since the songs have a very personal touch they were tailor made for a solo album more than that they could have been released with Vuur.

‘The Darkest Skies are the Brightest is a very touching album. It is a kind of relief that can be interpreted individually. Even if there are dark clouds, it is always the sun that appears sooner or later, something that can certainly be associated with this crazy time of pandemic too.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Agape
  2. Hurricane
  3. My Promise
  4. I Saw A Car
  5. The Soul Knows
  6. The End
  7. Keep It Simple
  8. Lo And Behold
  9. Losing You
  10. Survive
  11. Love You Like I Love You

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Acoustic

Release Date EU: February 26th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: