CD review BLACK HAWK ‘Destination Hell’

A few weeks ago Northern Germany-based riff masters Black Hawk released with ‘Destination Hell’ their newest album. Inspired by pioneers of Heavy Metal, meaning bands like Iron Maiden, Saxon and Judas Priest, the quartet offers ten new songs, all done with passion and in a good spirit.

Three years after ‘The End of the World’ reached the record stores the quartet put more wood on the fire. Songs like the faster title track and the anthemic ‘The Eyes of the Beast’ are for sure solid Metal tracks, the latter being a slowly creeping riff monster with well-done vocals by frontman’s Udo Bethke.

And even a power ballad isn’t missing on this longplayer. The four-piece band unveil their more sentimental side in the bottom part of the tracklist through songs like ‘Bleeding Heart’.

Hamburg’s Metal veterans Black Hawk deliver with ‘Destination Hell’ an album that isn’t polished neither it’s over-produced. It has a solid sound and a lot of edges. The ten songs might not bring that much new to the plate. Still they are authentic and real. No frills, some thrills and a lot of passion, that’s Black Hawk’s new album. If you like traditional Heavy Metal straight from the underground you should give the album a chance.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Hate
  2. Destination Hell
  3. Smoking Guns
  4. Time
  5. Voices from the Dark
  6. The Eye of the Beast
  7. Speed Ride
  8. Bleeding Heart
  9. Under Horizon
  10. Master of Metal

Label: Pure Underground Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: March 13th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: