CD review HYBORIAN 'Volume II'

Approximately one year after ‘Volume I’ was unleashed the next Hyborian record waits in line. Simply entitled ‘Volume II’ the trio deliver an album with eight new songs of Progressive Sludge Metal.

Martin Bush, Ryan Bates and Justi Rippeto combine on their newest album a lot of full-force power with some complex song structures, introduced by the opener ‘Driven By Hunger’. Bands like Masterdon come to me mind, also while listening to ‘Strombound’, which is the next massive strike, a song that’s for sure more the just a breeze.

With all the riff power comes a good sense for melodies too. Each track is fueled by downtuned guitars while the melodic and varied vocals by Bush makes each of the songs easier digestible. These tracks are complex but made for fans that appreciate a well-written song more than complexity as a mean to show-off.

‘In the End of All Tarvellers’ has the task to sum it up. The last track on the album is a mammoth one, for sure when it comes to length. With eight minutes the track outdoes the other seven songs in length. The tune in it’s entirety is well-crafted, with a second half that slows down things. Pace gets reduced, some acoustic parts take over and a narrative section brings the album to its finishing line.

With the newest release, Hyborian has already 2/3 of the planned trilogy out in the markets. Conceptually, stories from the beginning of time and from the last days of existence have been addressed. Now it’s up to ‘Volume III’ to close the books on this trilogy and while waiting everyone can enjoy these eight songs.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Driven by Hunger 
  2. Stormbound 
  3. Sanctuary 
  4. Planet Destructor 
  5. The Entity 
  6. Expanse 
  7. Portal 
  8. In the Hall of the Travellers

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Progressive Sludge

Release Date EU: March 20th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: