CD review LIV SIN ‘Burning Sermons’

(8/10) Liv Sin rose from the ashes of Sister Sin. Singer Liv Jagrell started the new powerhouse in 2016, a few months after the Sister Sin was carried to its grave.

Jagrell and her new band premiered in 2017 with ‘Follow Me’ and it’s up to the sophomore release ‘Burning Sermons’ being the exciting chapter. Album number two contains ten songs and is rooted in traditional Heavy Metal with powerful riffing, a hard-hitting rhythm section and Liv Sin’s raspy vocals being key ingredients of this release.

Keyboards, kicking off the album, are more of an exception and it’s the roaring riff that gives direction. Heaviness and melody are well-balanced, something that goes for all songs on ‘Burning Sermons’.

Next to opener I can recommend the heavy pounding ‘Hope Begins to Fade’, and not only because of Soilwork frontman Björn Strid sharing vocals with Jagrell. The song’s a bit slower than some others on the album and it’s the powerful beat that invites for some headbanging. ‘War Antidote’ instead is pushing the pedal quite hard while slower Heavy Metal returns with ‘Death Gives Life Meaning’.

Fans of traditional Heavy Metal will like this album. Screaming guitars, pounding drums and great hooks, all’s present on ‘Burning Sermons’ with Jagrell’s vocals adding the final touch to each of the ten tracks. Train your neck muscles before listening to this album.



  1. Blood Moon Fever
  2. Chapter of the Witch
  3. Hope Begins to Fade
  4. War Antidote
  5. At the Gates of the Abyss
  6. Slave to the Machine
  7. The Sinner
  8. Death Gives Life Mesaning
  9. Ghost in the Dark
  10. Dead Wind Intermezzo

Label: Despotz Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: September 6th, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: