CD review ENTOMBED A.D. ‘Bowels of Earth’

(9/10) After having listened to Entombed A.D.’s new album ‘Bowels of Earth’ I had to think more than ones of the video for ‘The Winner Has Lost’, which was shot at Warpigs brewery in Copenhagen. Entombed A.D. and Warpigs’ beer has a few things in common. Both aren’t mainstream, both have edges, both have an own identity and both go together very well.

OK, enough about beer, cheers. It’s about the new Entombed A.D. record, the next addition to their discography. ‘Bowels of Earth’ comprises of ten songs, written and recorded by LG Petrov, Victor Brandt, Nico Elgstrand and Olle Dahlstedt. The four Death Metal warriors from Sweden have an album in the starting blocks that’s done with a straight-forward mindset.

Entombed A.D. doesn’t get lost in endless soundscapes and tinkering melodies. ‘Bowles of Earth’ is a dirty rocking Death Metal album that features furious anthems like ‘Fit For a King’. Racing guitars and Petrov’s pretty unique vocals are ket elements of this new longplayer and ‘Fit For a King’ is also a good example for the variety the quartet builds into their songs. The slower and more grooving middle section is a well-placed counterpart to the breathtaking start and end, all together being a terrific headbanger.

Since almost every song on this album is below the 4 minutes finishing line, the meaning of this album is obvious. It acts as a sonic punch right in the face with the closer being partly an exception. ‘To Eternal Night’ stands out. The Death Metal veterans reduce speed but not intensity. The slo-mo sections are almost like a different ballgame compared to wrecking balls like ‘Hell is My Home’. However, the songs fits perfectly into the context and is a well-chosen closer of a great Death Metal album.

‘Bowels of Earth’ showcases the Death Metal pioneers in good shape and form. The quartet merges brutality of sound and filigree when it comes to breaks and variations. The longplayer is dynamic, deadly and vital on one. Grab a beer, maybe one from Warpigs, drop the needle and enjoy the ride.



  1. Torment Remains
  2. Eliminate Them
  3. Hell Is My Home
  4. Bowels Of Earth
  5. Bourbon Nightmare
  6. Fit For A King
  7. Worlds Apart
  8. Through The Eyes Of God
  9. I’ll Never Get Out This World Alive
  10. To Eternal Night

Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: August 30th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑