Review BLOOD CEREMONY ‘The Old Ways Remain’

Psychedelic rock powerhouse Blood Ceremony premiered with a self-titled album in 2008 and there were three more records that hit the stores. The latest release was an album called ‘Lord of Misrule’ from 2016. Seven years later, the four-piece returns with ‘The Old Ways Remain’, a fascinating album that showcases great musical craftsmanship.

‘The Old Ways Remain’ doesn’t laser in on the heavy riffs and the brutal beats. It’s more darkness and intensity that gives the album a stunning vibe. With ‘Widdershins’, the release carries some songs with heavier doom riffs while ‘Ipsissimus’ with its flute reminds more of bands like Jethro Tull.

An important success factor for Blood Ceremony is Alia O’Brien who not just handle the mentioned flute but even more convinces with her stunning voice. Melodic vocals lines and a clean voice is what fascinates the listener. It is a treat to listen to the singer since it is the emotional factor that makes each song to a joyful moment of psychedelic rock.

Also, the 70’s reminding ‘Eugenie’ is a treat. The hypnotizing rhythm and the flute play an important role and captivate fans of well-executed rock music. An ease, that is what ‘Hecate’ spreads before ‘Mossy Wood’ entails the spirit of nature and listening to ‘Powers of Darkness’ creates more of a curiosity about murkiness than a fear of gloom. Darkness seldomly sounded so light-hearted and swinging although there is a smaller sinister middle section that creates an opposite emotion.

The Toronto-based group delivers with ‘The Old Ways Remain’ a stunning longplayer. Various influences, the stunning voice of O’Brien and the excellent guitar work of Sean Kennedy  – it all adds to an entertaining and enthralling listening experience which is worth several rounds of sinning this record.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The Hellfire Club                    
  2. Ipsissimus      
  3. Eugenie                      
  4. Lolly Willows             
  5. Powers of Darkness               
  6. The Bonfires at Belloc Coombe                     
  7. Widdershins              
  8. Hecate           
  9. Mossy Wood              
  10. Song of the Morrow  

Label: Rise Above Records

Genre: Psychedelic Rock

Release Date EU: May 5th,2023



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: