Review HALIPHRON ‘Prey’

Haliphron is a new band from the Netherlands and at the same time there are familiar names that pop up in the line-up of the group. Former and still active members of bands like Izegrim, God Dethroned and Bleeding Gods are part of the outfit that delivers its debut album ‘Prey’.

‘Prey’ features a nine song tracklist, starting with ‘Let the World Burn’ which is a dystopian sounding intro. Then things get into full swing with ‘The Killing Spee’ and the band’s musical compass quickly becomes apparent.

Haliphron are at home in the realm of bombastic extreme metal. On the one hand there are the vocals of Marloes Voskuil which some people know from Izegrim. With an enormous vocal range, it is Voskuil who almost effortlessly switches between deep growls and hoarse vocal attacks.

Photo: Stefan Schipper

The vocals are one part of Haliphron’s evil sound. There are also the twin guitars, providing massive riff power to songs like ‘Perfect Existence’. Furthermore, it’s the keyboards that provide a melodic aspect to the hellish sound of the band and at the same time at an extra level of density to ‘Prey’.

With the symphonic elements embedded, Haliphron reminds partly of bands like Cradle Of Filth, although being more rooted in death metal.

Another song I can recommend is the massive title track, which also includes all the trademarks of Haliphron. The vigorous power of the rhythm section, consisting of Jessica Otten (b) and Frank Schilperoort (d), stands out here. I addition ‘Prey’ features well-done breaks and twists, both needed to get some versatility into this 6-minutes riff beast.

In general, one can report, that the songs on ‘Prey’ are rather long. Between 5- & 6-minute tracks, that is what the band offers and there is no moment of lengthiness.

‘Prey’ is an exciting new album from a new band. Although not redefining blackened symphonic extreme metal the longplayer has enough to offer to provide solid delight for your metal ears with a headbanging guarantee factor included.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Let the World Burn (Intro)
  2. The Killing Spree
  3. Mother of All Evil
  4. Perfect Existence
  5. Prey
  6. Human Inferno
  7. The Resistance
  8. Schizophrenia (CD Digtal Bonus Track)
  9. Unidentified Mass

Label: Listenable Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: March 31st, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: