Review XENTRIX ‘Seven Words’

After Xentrix announced their disbanding in 1997, it was not predictable that the guys would resurrect a few years later. But never say never. Three years ago the band released ‘Bury the Pain’, a more than decent comeback album, and now they have a new album coming up with ‘Seven Words’.

The sixth album of the Englishmen includes of course more than just seven words. There are a total of eleven songs, which have found a place on the album and Xentrix continue where they left off with the previous record. The quartet has not lost their punch and it quickly becomes clear that on this longplayer only energetic thrash metal songs come to life.

Already the opener ‘Behind the Walls of Treachery’ shows that Xentrix are addicted to oldschool thrash metal; music that includes the sound of the Bay Area as well as influences of bands like Kreator. Raging solo parts and a massive rhythm section provide the song with the necessary kick, which is also reflected in the following title track.

Also worth mentioning is the furiously stomping ‘The Altar of Nothing’ as well as the grooving ‘Everybody Loves You When You’re Dead’. ‘Reckless With a Smile’ can come up with a strong bass line as well. ‘My War’ is a thrash metal wrecking ball that hits one with full force, while the closer ‘Anything but the Truth’ grabs attention again with a more atmospheric start. Things don’t stop with these cinematic sounds, as the song evolves into a hard-hitting thrasher.

Well, ‘Anything but the Truth’ is the last Xentrix composition on the album, but the four guys also have a cover version to offer. The band, who became famous in the 90’s for the powerful ‘Ghostbusters’ cover, decided to turn to Alice Cooper this time and recorded a metallic version of ‘Billion Dollar Babies’. The result is worth listening to, fun and that’s it.

With ‘Seven Words’ the four Englishmen have created a superb record, which takes up the roots of thrash metal and transports them into the present time. Oldschool, that’s the spirit and vibe of this record, while the sound blows strong and modern out of the speakers. Recommendable.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Behind the Walls of Treachery          
  2. Seven Words  
  3. Spit Coin         
  4. The Alter of Nothing  
  5. Everybody Loves You When You’re Dead                 
  6. Reckless with a Smile            
  7. Ghost Tape Number 10         
  8. My War                      
  9. Kill and Protect          
  10. Anything but the Truth          
  11. Billion Dollar Babies

Label: Listenable Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: November 11th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: