Review INTOXICATED ‘Watch You Burn’

Florida and death metal, that is a combination that works for decades. Florida is also the home of Intoxicated, a band hailing from Altamonte Springs. The guys started in 1992 and are still active. They might even more active than over the first 22 years.

The band premiered in 1997 with ‘Metal Neck’ before radio silence took over. Fans didn’t hear a lot from the band before the guys return in 2020 with the ‘Walled’ EP. It was a strong return, a real blast.

In June this year the band will follow-up things with a new longplayer. The sophomore album is called ‘Watch You Burn’ and marks a next strike in the band’s career. A blend of thrash metal and Floridian death metal is what fans get offered. Ten uncompromising songs with freight train energy are accountable for an acoustic blast that challenges speakers and amplifier.

The band recorded the album in Morbid Angel’s old rehearsal studio in Tampa and the spirit of band and location might had an impact on Intoxicated newest effort. There is the aggressive and fast ‘Majestic Ride’, a metallic thunderstorm that leaves its traces in a bit more than two minutes. The album in general doesn’t contain long and epic songs. Intoxicated boil down things to the essence of metal and the closer ‘Inevitable End’ is almost four minutes running time the longest track on the album. Slower than most of the other tunes and equipped with a hypnotic riff the song is a musical steamroller, an unstoppable force.

‘Watch You Burn’ is a great album. Intoxicated blends oldschool death metal with crossover elements and thrash metal. Bands like Obituary have an impact on the sound of Intoxicated as well as there are references that direct towards bands like D.R.I.. Fans of brutal metal with style should not miss ‘Watch You Burn’.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Asshole Mode
  2. Grovel
  3. Watch You Burn
  4. Legacy’s Demise
  5. Majestic Eyes
  6. Forced Fed
  7. Dumpster Dive
  8. Revelation Denied
  9. Analyze
  10. Inevitable End

Label: Seeing Red Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date: June 24th, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: