Review BLACK STONE CHERRY ‘Live From the Royal Albert Hall … Y’all’

Black Stone Cherry have fulfilled a childhood dream. The band from Kentucky always wanted to perform live on stage at the Royal Albert Hall in London and this dream came true on September 29 last year.

To start the show, the band chose ‘Me and Mary Jane’ from the ‘Magic Mountain’ album. Overall, it can be said though that the setlist is pretty much focused on the early phase of the band. The first three albums were the main focus of the show in this regard, providing 12 of the 19 songs. The current studio album of the guys from Kentucky , The Human Condition’, was represented by ‘Again’, ‘In Love With the Pain’ and ‘Ringin’ in My Head’.

It is almost useless to mention that Black Stone Cherry benefit from a rich live sound, which is captured very well on the record. It might sound a little too perfect now and then and would have deserved a few more edges and corners. Nevertheless, Black Stone Cherry delivers a very solid live record, which also includes a Blu-ray of the show in the CD version.

For the sake of completeness, we should also mention the drum solo, a moment that causes a split opinion in every show. Some love this moment, while for the many such a solo is a good moment to get another beer. Well, in the case of a live album, at least you can skip to the next track without missing too much.

The classics like the thundering ‘Blind Man’ and also ‘White Trash Millionaire’ are as expected towards the end of the set which finds an emotional end with the encore ‘Peace is Free’.
‘Live at Royal Albert Hall … Y’all’ is a live album that represents a special moment for fans and band. Recorded in the midst of the pandemic, this recording shows the importance of live music and thankfully we are all slowly finding our way back to a time when live music resounds and venues fill up again.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Me and Mary Jane (Live)
  2. Burnin’ (Live)
  3. Again (Live)
  4. Yeah Man (Live)
  5. In My Blood/Island Jam (Live)
  6. Ringin’ In My Head (Live)
  7. Like I Roll (Live)
  8. Cheaper To Drink Alone (Live)
  9. Hell and High Water (Live)
  10. Soulcreek (Live)
  11. Devil’s Queen (Live)
  12. Drum Solo (Live)
  13. Things My Father Said (Live)
  14. In Love With The Pain (Live)
  15. Blind Man (Live)
  16. Blame It On The Boom Boom (Live)
  17. White Trash Millionaire (Live)
  18. Lonely Train (Live)
  19. Peace Is Free (Live)

Label: Mascot Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: June 24th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: