Review INGLORIOUS ‘MMXXI Live at the Phoenix’

UK rockers Inglorious released an album called ‘Herione’ back in September 2022. A few less restrictive covid regulations allowed the band to play some live shows in the UK to support the new album. One of these concerts took place at Exeter Phoenix in Exeter. This concert has been recorded and acts as the base for Inglorious’ first live album.

Inglorious surfed through a nineteen-song setlist that night of which eleven songs made it on ‘MMXXI Live at the Phoenix’. What is mainly missing are the cover versions from the ‘Heroine’ album that have performed that night in Exeter but didn’t end up on the live release. One exception though. Heart’s classic ‘Barracuda’ is present on this live album and is performed in a really high-octane version.

Most of the songs, played in Exeter, have been from the ‘We Will Ride’ album. Inglorious’ fourth record provided seven songs to the setlist of which just four are represented on this live album. A good thing though is that the sound of this live album is very good and doesn’t leave room for complaints. Or maybe it does. Sometimes the sound is too perfect and here and there it feels like the event would have taken place in a huge concert hall instead of the Exeter Phoenix. And it doesn’t support the authentic touch and feel if not all the songs end up on a live album.

What can be concluded is, that ‘MMXXI Live at the Phoenix’ is Inglorious’ first live release and it is a document in time when it comes to concerts during a pandemic. Not more but also not less. It still feels like a missed chance though.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. She Won’t Let You Go
  2. Messiah
  3. Breakaway
  4. Where Are You Now?
  5. Read All About It
  6. Barracuda
  7. Holy Water
  8. He Will Provide
  9. I Don’t Need Your Loving
  10. We Will Ride
  11. Until I Die

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock

Release Date EU: April 8th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: