Review INGLORIOUS ‘Heroine’

UK rocker Inglorious went through a rebuilding process during 2018 when three new band members had to be found and integrated by Nathan James and Phil Beaver. ‘We Will Ride’, the fourth album, was the proof of this line-up that works together tightly and with power. To keep the momentum going and not being able to tour, Inglorious started to record a new album.

‘Heroine’ is the title of this new longplayer that is slightly different from a usual one. This time the guys went through their most favorite songs when it comes to pop and (hard-) rock. And not only that. The focus hereby was on female artists that influenced the band. From Whitney Houston via Joan Jett to Halestorm, the tracklist features cover version from pop to hard rocking classics like Tina Turner’s ‘Nutbush City Limits’.

Inglorious gave each of these tunes their own hard rocking touch which makes this release to a very entertaining way to spend 45 minutes. There is no question about the greatness of the originals. Regardless of if you like pop music or not, the songs are classics and listening to the Inglorious interpretation is a bit like ear-candy.

The band doesn’t move away too far from the originals with songs like ‘Barracuda’ from Heart, reflecting a lot of the original approach. ‘Fighter’ is certainly one of the rocking songs from Christine Aguilera and the version on this album gives the fighter some extra power. Starting into the album with Whitney Houston song is a brave undertaking. The song probably deviates the most from the original, already since Nathan James voice the brilliant way of singing of Whitney Houston can’t be compared. Therefore the band arranged the song as a real rocker that shows some movement.

An album with cover songs, is it needed? The answer to this question is an individual thing. However, in Inglorious’ case listening to these eleven songs provides energy and brings back a positive spirit that was hard to find over the last months. This album is fun. Not more and not less.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Queen Of The Night (Whitney Houston cover)
  2. Barracuda (Heart cover)
  3. Midnight Sky (Miley Cyrus cover)
  4. Nutbush City Limits (Tina Turner cover)
  5. Bring Me To Life (Evanescence cover)
  6. Fighter (Christina Aguilera cover)
  7. I’m With You (Avril Lavigne cover)
  8. I Hate Myself For Loving You (Joan Jett cover)
  9. I Am The Fire (Halestorm cover)
  10. Time After Time (Cyndi Lauper cover)
  11. Uninvited (Alanis Morissette cover)

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: September 10th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: