Review FIRST SIGNAL ‘Closer to the Edge’

The name of Harry Hess is closely connected to Harem Scarem, the band he co-founded together with Pete Lesperance. The singer released two solo albums too and is part of First Signal too. First Signal has three longplayers under their belt and the next one is waiting in line.

The self-titled debut hit the shelves in 2010 and twelve years later, First Signal will release with ‘Closer to the Edge’ their fourth record. As the previous albums also, the new record is built on a collaborative approach with many contributors to the song writing. First Signal is more of a regularly returning project, a collective with various contributors.

Musically the album fits perfectly into Frontiers Music portfolio. Melodic rock and AOR is what swings with each of the eleven songs. Hess’ vocals are a fundamental element of this longplayer, that often finds the right balance of rock’n’roll roots and excellently crafted melodies. Songs like ‘Close to the Edge’ are the perfect example for First Signal finding this sweetspot.

Next to the songs itself, also the production lives up to current standards. The sound of ‘Closer to the Edge’ fits perfectly and provides the songs with the right punch and allow the hooks to unfold their taking character.

With all the positive that comes with ‘Closer to the Edge’ I also have to say that the album is on the same musical stage as many other AOR-driven bands. There is not that much new when it comes to this album and it’s not the unexpected that provides the thrill. It is more of the known, done in excellent quality, that brings brightness to ‘Closer to the Edge’. If one looks for music that provides a good time, then this longplayer does the job, for sure. It’s the known in a world of the unknown that provides a good feeling and a positive time.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Don’t Let It End
  2. I Don’t Wanna Feel The Night Is Over
  3. Show Me The Way
  4. Don’t Look Away
  5. Irreplaceable
  6. One More Time
  7. Closer To The Edge
  8. Angel With A Rose
  9. Mystery
  10. The Hurting One
  11. Got To Believe

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: AOR

Release Date EU: April 8th, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: