CD review HAREM SCAREM ‘Change the World’

Harry Hess and Pete Lesperance are the driving forces behind Harem Scarem, the Canadian Rock band with the great sense for melodies. The star of the quartet began to shine in the late eighties and exquisite songwriting delivered songs that found a wider group of fans. Records like ‘Moon Swing’ are timeless deliveries, being still relevant today.

A breakup in 2008, after having released the ‘Hope’ album, wasn’t the best news for fans of melodic Hard Rock but fortunately there was more hope than just the latest record at the time. The Final Signal studio project, featuring Hess and Smith, marked a turning point and step by step the band found common ground again.

‘Change the World’ is a next product of this renewed collaboration and comprises of eleven new melodic Rock songs as we know from the Canadian Rock group.

The record is a treat for your ears. Songs like the anthemic ‘No Man’s Land’ and the smoothly rocking ‘Aftershock’ are tracks that enlighten any grey winter day. As with the earlier releases also the new album finds the sweet spot of catchiness and hard rocking music. With ‘In the Unknown’ the group doesn’t discover unknown territory but walks on known paths with the sureness of a sleepwalker. ‘Fire – Gasoline’ is hot, that’s already what the title states and the music lives up to the promise.

The Canadian rockers add with ‘Change the World’ a next highlight to their impressive musical achievements. The album doesn’t disappoint and shows why melodic Hard Rock is so fascinating.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Change The World
  2. Aftershock
  3. Searching For Meaning
  4. The Death Of Me
  5. Mother Of Invention
  6. No Man’s Land
  7. In The Unknown
  8. Riot In My Head
  9. No Me Without You
  10. Fire & Gasoline
  11. Swallowed By The Machine

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: March 6th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: