Review TREAT ‘The Endgame’

The Southern part of Stockholm, that is the home of Treat, a melodic rock outfit with a long track record. The band started in the heydays of melodic rock and is the brainchild of singer Robert Ernlund and guitarist Anders Wikström.

The band unleashed their first longplayer ‘Scratch and Bite’ in 1985, a time when bands like Europe and Bon Jovi started to become mega sellers. At the time, bands with a similar musical compass had big chances and therefor it was not a surprise that a label like Mercury Records signed the band. Instead of becoming a flash in the pan, Treat managed to substantiate their musical ambition with well-forged albums before they broke-up in early 1993.

After 13 Treat-less years the band left their re-Treat and returned to the scene in 2006. After having signed with Frontiers Music, the way was paved for a new album. ‘Coup de Grace’ was released in 2010 and since then the second era of Treat gains speed.

Four years after having let ‘Tunguska’ off the leash, the Swedes present their newest effort called ‘The Endgame’. The twelve-song track listing of the album features everything fans of the band could ask for. There is the spirit of the 80s that acts as a common denominator. This doesn’t mean, that the band frantically tries to keep the old times alive. It’s more the roots of the band acting as the base for the new songs to bloom.

Although the album title sounds dramatic, the basic vibe on this record is a very positive one. In a world of bad and sad news, a melodic album like this one is a good chance to get some positivism into daily life and the quintet from Sweden adds their share to it. Songs like the gloomy ‘Dark to Light’ are more of the exception on an album that includes with the heavily rocking ‘Rabbit Hole’ and the anthemic ‘Jesus from Hollywood’ cool rock song. ‘To the End of Love’ is the final furore and marks the end of an album that includes with ‘My Parade’ also the emotional and balladesque moments. Melodies rule on ‘The Endgame’ without overruling the guitar power.

Treat’s ambition was to pen an excellent melodic rock album that blends catchiness and heaviness. Mission accomplished, I would say. ‘The Endgame’ is a great representative of a genre that doesn’t provide a lot of uncharted territory anymore. Treat compensate this with a passion for their music and that is what resonates with each tone on their ninth studio album.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Freudian Slip
  2. Rabbit Hole
  3. Sinbiosis
  4. Home Of The Brave
  5. Both Ends Burning
  6. My Parade
  7. Wake Me When It’s Over
  8. Jesus From Hollywood
  9. Magic
  10. Carolina Reaper
  11. Dark To Light
  12. To The End Of Love

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: April 8th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: