Review ALLEGAEON ‘Damnum’

‘Damnum’ is the sixth album of Denver, Colorado based tech death metal outfit Allegaeon. The band, founded in 2008, delivers a musical curveball, combining the relentless heaviness of death metal with layers, known from prog metal bands.

A song that shows all aspects of Allegaeon’s sound is ‘Into Ember’. Deep Florida-laden growls, excellent clean vocals and filigree guitar solos is what characterize songs and music approach of the US quintet. ‘Damnum’ is a brutal album that doesn’t allow the visit a single moment of rest. There’s a lot going on. Twists and turns are the rule and not the exception. If ADHD should be described through music, these songs could act as a reference.

One of these unforeseeable twists is embedded in ‘To Carry My Grief Through Torpor and Silence’. The track is a brutal song that suddenly unveils a flamenco-part at halftime, followed by a filigree guitar solo.
The album is a razorblade-ride with the constant risk of losing control over the song. But it never happens. Allegaeon are experienced and have a musical toolkit that always allows them to keep the song on track.

Another showcase for variety are the two parts of ‘The Dopamine Void’. While the part one reflects bigger soundscapes, the second chapter is a massive riff assault with a pace that is breath-taking.
To create extra tension and to support the flow of the album, the quintet placed with ‘In Mourning’ an acoustic intro on the tracklist before ‘Only Loss’ marks the mighty ending of the album.

‘Damnum’ is a monolith, and it takes a while to get used to it. Album and songs keep some of the weaved in details for a second and third spin of the album. What strikes first is the brutality and ruthlessness of these twelve songs. This album reveals itself to the listener only with time and asks for attention. If you want to challenge mind and eardrums, here you go.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Bastards of the Earth
  2. Of Beasts and Worms
  3. Into Embers
  4. To Carry My Grief Through Torpor and Silence
  5. Vermin
  6. Called Home
  7. Blight
  8. The Dopamine Void Pt. 1
  9. The Dopamine Void Pt. 2
  10. Saturnine
  11. In Mourning
  12. Only Loss

Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Tech Death Metal

Release Date EU: February 25th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: