Review RHAPSODY OF FIRE ‘Glory of Salvation’

Ok, let’s face it. There is not that much new to explore when it comes to symphonic metal. The principles are the same, the expression is similar and in the end it’s the creativity level that together with experience will be the decisive factor for dividing good from very good.

A band, that belongs to the pioneers of this genre is Rhapsody Of Fire who started in 1993, a time when heavy metal wasn’t the most focused musical genre.

After a formidable start with ‘Emerald Sword’ saga and the ‘Dark Secret’ saga some rough sea was waiting. All kind of non-music related struggles had to be taken and, in the end, there were two versions of one band.  Founding member Alex Staropoli could keep the band moniker Rhapsody Of Fire and continued with singer Fabio Lione. The next challenge came in 2016 when Lione left the band, and an adequate replacer was needed. Staropoli found the new voice of Rhapsody Of Fire in vocalist Giacomo Voli, who is also part of the newest album.

‘Glory For Salvation’ is the title of the latest Rhapsody Of Fire output that will hit the shelves end of November. A total of 13 songs found a spot on the tracklist of this album, tunes that are created and written by mainman Staropoli. Rhapsody Of Fire stick again to the saga approach with the new album being the next chapter of what started with ‘The Eighth Mountain’. Concept and saga is one thing, but it is the music that helps to get the story across. It’s the emotional base for the narrative and it is the area where Rhapsody Of Fire make a difference.

Narrator parts (‘Eternal Snow’), bombastic soundscapes (‘Son of Vengeance’) and cinematic epics (‘Abyss of Pain’), it is all present on this album and just listening to the choir, that is used so effectively on ‘Abyss of Pain’ give you the shivers. These songs are the differentiator that makes Rhapsody Of Fire stand out. Staropoli still lifts the bar when it comes to symphonic metal.

Regardless of listening to the heavier tunes, the more cinematic ones or the soulful songs, it is all combined on ‘Glory For Salvation’ in a way that merges pieces to something bigger. I have to admit at this point that I’m not the biggest fan of symphonic metal, but what ‘Glory Of Salvation’ offers impresses. Well done Rhapsody Of Fire.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Son Of Vengeance
  2. The Kingdom Of Ice
  3. Glory For Salvation
  4. Eternal Snow
  5. Terial The Hawk
  6. Maid Of The Secret Sand
  7. Abyss Of Pain II
  8. Infinitae Gloriae
  9. Magic Signs
  10. I’ll Be Your Hero
  11. Chains Of Destiny
  12. Un’Ode Per L’Eroe
  13. La Esencia De Un Rey

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Symphonic Power Metal

Release Date EU: November 26th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: