Review MORGUL BLADE ‘Fell Sorcery Abounds’

No Remorse Records has shown in the past that the label has a great sense for new bands that started a journey through the rocking landscapes of heavy metal. With Morgul Blade, the label showed again this unerring instinct for young and enthusiastic bands.

Morgul Blade hail from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania with a foundation date in 2017. Just before the pandemic started, the four-piece released with ‘Harbingers of Power and the World’s End’ an EP, a stepstone for the band to ink a deal with No Remorse Records. With having such a collaboration in place, the road was paved for the full-length premier.

‘Fell Sorcery Abounds’ is the title of the debut album which is nine songs featuring record that celebrates the glory of traditional heavy metal in 38 minutes. Morgul Blade’s debut is a treat for ears of metalheads that call bands like Eternal Champion to their faves. Epic metal, that sometimes reminds me also a bit of Cirith Ungol, that’s what metal fans get offered. The latter comparison might be more related to the general spirit of the album rather than the music, still I can see some crosslinks.

The premier album starts with a song that could be a nominee for ‘longest song title 2021’. ‘He Who Sits Upon the Black Throne of Angmar / The Morgul Blade’ is split in two parts of which the first one is more of a mystic intro that hands over to ‘The Morgul Blade’.  The quartet uses a dark vibe as one of the combining elements on this debut that faces with the galloping ‘A Last Waltz of Gevaudan’ a real highlight. Blistering guitars and a great rhythm are the driving element of this headbanger.  One can experience right away that the only motivation for this album is the pure dedication for heavy metal and nothing else.

The more folklore based ‘In the Grip of the Dark Land’ is a good song, although not my favorite on the album. There is a bit too much pathos embedded and what I think is better are the smashing riff attacks like ‘Sons of the North’ and the great ‘The Five Will Ride at Dawn’.

Sometimes records are less impactful towards the end. Not in this case. Morgul Blade keep the quality level up high, and the excellent title track is certainly the right song to end an album that belongs to the strongest debuts in 2021. Don’ miss this band and don’t miss this album.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. He Who Sits Upon the Black Throne Of Angmar / The Morgul Blade
  2. A Last Waltz of Gevaudan
  3. In The Grip of The Dark Lord
  4. Sons Of the Night
  5. Oak In the Mist
  6. The Five Will Ride at Dawn
  7. The Beacons Must Be Lit!
  8. Blood Has Been Spilled This Night
  9. Fell Sorcery Abounds

Label: No Remorse Records

Genre: Epic Metal

Release Date EU: November 26th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: