Review RIAN ‘Twenty-Three’

Melodic rock and Sweden is a recipe that more than once stood for professionally made rock music with an addictive factor embedded. Rian is a band that follows the tradition and releases with ‘Twenty- Three’ a new album, filled with eleven tracks that are supposed to continue an undertaking that started in 2017 with the debut album ‘Out of the Darkness’.

I couldn’t find out the meaning of ‘Twenty-Three’ and hopefully it isn’t an omen for the year when first live shows can take place again. But seriously, Rian start off quite rocking. ‘Stop’ is a beginning, at least when it comes to ‘Twenty-Three’. Not too soft and not too heavy either, the song is built on a good riff and a catchy melody. ‘In the Dark’ follows a similar pattern before the first cliche-laden half-ballad, ‘Where Do We Run’, adds more heart and soul to the album.

Too much candy, although being addictive, comes with ‘We Belong’. Well-crafted but sugar sweet, that is ‘We Belong’, a song that could help the band to win over new fans from the mainstream.

The frames of melodic rock aren’t too wide and doesn’t allow a lot of experiments and Rian doesn’t add an innovative element to the genre. Besides that, the band cruises with professionalism and passion through the fields of melodic rock. Richard Andermyr and bandmates created a good record that is entertaining and supports a summerly ease. Not more but also not less.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Stop
  2. In The Dark
  3. Where Do We Run
  4. Twenty-Three
  5. For Your Heart
  6. We Belong
  7. My Ocean
  8. Body And Soul
  9. The Passenger
  10. Stranger To Me
  11. Your Beauty

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: July 16th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: