Review KANSAS ‘Point of Know Return Live & Beyond’

Classic rock veterans Kansas released their sixteenth full-length album ‚The Absence of Presence’ in 2020, being a next great addition to a long list of records, released over the last decades. The band, that started in 1974, has the ability to write and record timeless songs that survived all trends and hypes with hymns like ‘Dust in the Wind’, being the absolute highlights of an impressive career.

Next to all the studio releases, Kansas also delivered several live albums and new one is on its way. ‘Point of Know Return Live & Beyond’ is the title of the newest live experience on CD, vinyl and digital.

In total 22 songs are spread over two CDs, tunes that have been recorded live between 2019 and 2020. Back then, the band was on the ‘Point of Know Return’-tour, which followed the 40th anniversary road trip called ‘Leftoverture 40th Anniversary’-tour.

The tracklist of this live release covers the entire creative life of Kansas, starting with ‘Lonely Wind’, taken from the self-titled debut album. With ‘Refugee’ and ‘Summer’, two songs from the ‘The Prelude Implicit’ record represent the newer Kansas sound and shows how much musical harmony comes with a band that stick to their sound without standing still. By the way, ‘People of the South Wind’, Refugee’ and ‘Lonely Wind’ are performed acoustically and end this live album, although they have been often used as the show opener at the time.

‘Point of Know Return Live & Beyond’ showcases a legendary band at work, recorded in a time when live music was more than solely a stream through the world wide web.

Rating: 8 out of 10.



  1. Cold Grey Morning (Live 2019-20)
  2. Two Cents Worth (Live 2019-20)
  3. The Wall (Live 2019-20)
  4. Song for America (Live 2019-20)
  5. Summer (Live 2019-20)
  6. Musicatto (Live 2019-20)
  7. Taking in the View (Live 2019-20)
  8. Miracles Out of Nowhere (Live 2019-20)


  1. Point of Know Return (Live 2019-20)
  2. Paradox (Live 2019-20)
  3. The Spider (Live 2019-20)
  4. Portrait (He Knew) (Live 2019-20)
  5. Closet Chronicles (Live 2019-20)
  6. Lightning’s Hand (Live 2019-20)
  7. Dust in the Wind (Live 2019-20)
  8. Sparks of the Tempest (Live 2019-20)
  9. Nobody’s Home (Live 2019-20)
  10. Hopelessly Human (Live 2019-20)
  11. Carry On Wayward Son (Live 2019-20)
  12. People of the Southwind (Live 2019-20)
  13. Refugee (Live 2019-20)
  14. Lonely Wind (Live 2019-20)

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: May 28th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: