CD review PRIMAL FEAR ‘I Will Be Gone’ – EP

German metal icons Primal Fear is a longtime player in the fields of heavy metal and the release of the ‘Metal Commando’ album in 2020 was another milestone in the long track record of the sextet. With entering the top ten of album charts in various countries, the latest Primal Fear studio album was a very successful release and one should strike as long as the iron is hot.

Not being able to tour was a downer, like for everybody in the music industry, but opened also the possibility for working on a new EP to keep the momentum. One of the most touching songs on ‘Metal Commando’ is the ballad ‘I Will Be Gone’. This track is the name-giver for the new EP and it’s no less than Tarja Turunen singing a duet with Primal Fear frontman Ralf Scheepers. It’s amazing to see how well the to voices go together, giving the song a new emotional touch.

Photo: Heilemania

After these fragile and emotionally loaded tones, the EP also contains some of the typical heavy stuff we know from Primal Fear. The is the thundering ‘Vote of No Confidence’ where the band unleashes the entire triple guitar power. The song is previously unreleased one and a real headbanger.

Furthermore, there are three more tunes that have been bonus tracks for the limited ‘Metal Commando’ digipack. ‘Rising Fear’, an instrumental, shows, that Primal Fear sounds great when focusing on an instrumental sequence. ‘Leave Me Alone’ and ‘Second to None’ pick up the typical Primal Fear trademarks again and round off an EP that is well-crafted and a good bridge into the future.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. I Will Be Gone (feat. Tarja)
  2. Vote of No Confidence
  3. Rising Fear
  4. Leave Me Alone
  5. Second to None

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: April 9th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: