CD review ARION ‘Vultures Die Alone’

Arion was not only a was a kitharode in ancient Greece but is also a melodic metal band hailing from Finland. The quintet got some attention while having been part of the Finnish Eurovision qualification program. Next to this rather genre-different context the quintet added two albums and an EP to the books. With ‘Vultures Die Alone’ the third album is ready to rock.

The new album, being as the third release a rather decisive one, features ten songs, all rooted in melodic metal. Arion combines on their newest outing some heavy riffing with the sweetness of a donut. The guys are for sure not shy of a good melody since ‘Vultures Die Alone’ is full of them. However, things never get really faceless or dull. A song that reflects the approach very well is ‘A Vulture Dies Alone’, the kind of title track. Built on catchy vocals lines the tune gains it’s heaviness by the punching up-tempo beat and the rather furious guitar parts.

Arion was the opening act for Battle Beast a couple of years ago. With such a contact, the quintet could convince Battle Beast singer Noora Louhimo to contribute with a guest appearance. The song is called ‘Bloodline’ and is another example that reflects Arion’s musical focus. Good melodic arcs and a solid punch are enriched by the two voices that go together very well.

‘Vultures Die Alone’ is an album that doesn’t give any reason for critique. The songs catch your attention, the first spin is already entertaining, and the sound is powerful and differentiated. Although Arion doesn’t challenge genre frames, the guys show what’s possible within the given musical wiggle room.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Out Of My Life
  2. Break My Chains
  3. Bloodline (Feat. Noora Louhimo)
  4. I’m Here To Save You
  5. In The Name Of Love (Feat. Cyan Kicks)
  6. A Vulture Dies Alone
  7. I Love To Be Your Enemy
  8. Where The Ocean Greets The Sky
  9. I Don’t Fear You
  10. Until Eternity Ends

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: April 9th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: