CD review BUDDERSIDE ‘Spiritual Voilence’

’Spiritual Violence’ is the new longplayer from Budderside, a band that premiered with a self-titled debut in 2016. It took a while for the guys to unleash their sophomore record but now it’s in sight. ’Spiritual Violence’ ends the waiting time and what we can state right away, with 39 minutes it’s again not an epical long record and as the running time it’s also ten songs being a common denominator between debut and second album.

Budderside stand for a modern interpretation of hard rock and sometimes I had the feeling of the band being a modern version of e.g. Mötley Crüe. This comparison shouldn’t mislead your thoughts though. The quartet doesn’t come with the same unbound wildness and there is also less heart and soul involved. ’Spiritual Violence’ includes some good songs and what is a plus is the strong and well-done sound with producer Jay Baumgardner (Bush, Godsmack, Papa Roach) at the helm and Howie Weinberg (Nirvana, The Smashing Pumpkins, Garbage) who did the mastering. 

What’s missing is the final punch of the ten songs. Each of them is a nicely done modern rock track but feels also designed at a drawing board more than worked on in a sticky rehearsal room. Again, the songs doesn’t cause earache. ’I’m a Man’ and the single release ’Zen’ are well-done modern rock songs, but at the same time predictable too. The same goes for the soulful half-ballad ’Things We Do’, nice to listen to but also without edges and surprises. 

One of the best songs is the Johnny Cash cover ’Folsom Prison Blu’ (no typo, it’s ’blu’ and not ’blues’). It’s not easy to cover a Johnny Cash song, but I think that the quartet managed very well to make the song their own without moving away too far from the original version. You can feels ”that train keeps a rollin’” at the end of the first verse.

Furthermore it should be mentioned that with Phil Campbell (’Pardon Me’) and Carla Harvey (’Amber Alert’) two guests added a piece to the album which is a nice thing but at the same time doesn’t lift the overall impression.

’Spiritual Violence’ is an album that sounds good but misses the dirt under the fingernails. Some more edges and own identity could help to differentiate Budderside from the masses. 

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Wide Awake
  2. Zen
  3. Amber Alert
  4. Pardon Me
  5. I’m a Man
  6. Folsom Prison Blu
  7. Things We Do
  8. Feels So Good
  9. Soul Searcher
  10. Day Go Bah

Label: Motörhead Music

Genre: Modern Rock

Release Date EU: March 26th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: