CD review STARMEN ‘By the Grace of Rock’n’Roll’

Sweet and tempting as a donut, that’s what Swedish rock pastry chefs Starmen have to offer with their new album ‘By the Grace of Rock’n’Roll’. Artwork and band moniker clearly indicates a musical imprint of the four guys that happened during the 70’s and the earlier 80’s. No doubt that Kiss albums have been listened to by the four guys more than once and songs like embrace ‘Bad Habit’ the musical inspiration.

The story of Starmen has its beginning in 2018 and is based on a fun idea. The guys wanted to pay tribute to some of their idols, rooted in good old days of hard rock and classic rock, even down to the detail of every band member wearing their individual make-up in individual color-coding.

Things evolved fast and with two album, Starmen have been rather productive. ‘By the Grace of Rock’n’Roll’ is new longplayer and what you get to hear isn’t bad stuff. Equipped with a good sense for melodies, the quartet finds the right balance of melodic attraction and heavier riffs. With ‘Shining Star’ the album benefits of a good opener with a hook that catches your attention right away. The title track is next on the batting order and the Kiss-references are undeniable.

Also the cool grooving and a bity funky ‘Black Thunder, White Lightning’ is ear candy and it’s the galloping ‘Pleasuredome’ with the Deep Purple references that also knows how to please.

Honestly, I haven’t heard of Starmen before and although the don’t reinvent the musical wheel, ‘By the Grace of Rock’n’Roll’ is a pretty cool album. It’s just fun to listen to these guys. ‘By the Grace of Rock’n’Roll’ brings color into life and helps the sweep the gray winter memories.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Shining Star
  2. By the Grace of Rock’n’Roll
  3. Kairi
  4. Black Thunder White Lightning
  5. Kisses of An Enemy
  6. Pleasuredome
  7. Spaceplane
  8. People’s Parade
  9. Bad Habit
  10. Hotter Than Fire
  11. Angels Crying
  12. Shining Star Voice Outro

Label: Melodic Passion

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: March 12th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: