CD review SUNSTORM ‘Afterlife’

Sunstorm is more of an ongoing project than a band in a wider sense. Although having premiered in 2006 with the self-titles debut album, Sunstorm went through several line-up changes over time. After Joe Lynn Turner left Sunstorm, the last founding members disembarked and it’s new guys taking over.

‘Afterlife’ is the sixth album from Sunstorm and it features two new members. Drummer Michele Sanna provides the heartbeat for the new longplayer while no less than the omnipresent Ronnie Romero took over vocal duties.

The new record comes with a 11-songs tracklist that shows the beauty of rock music that blossoms through well-crafted melodies. It’s not that Sunstorm offers a lot new on their sixth album. Listening to tunes like ‘Swan Song’ shows you the colorful musical expression of melodic rock that fits perfectly into the upcoming spring season with sun-rays winning over clouds and darkness. And as spring comes with nearly the same expression every year, also Sunstorm didn’t change their direction.

There is not that much more to say about ‘Afterlife’. In the end it’s a not more and also not less than a well-done melodic rock album, equipped with a strong sound from Alessandro Del Vecchio. It’s an entertaining release that on the other hand doesn’t come with unexpected surprise. ‘Afterlife’ fits perfectly into Frontiers Music portfolio and fans of melodic rock will for sure find what they are looking for.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Afterlife
  2. One Step Closer
  3. Swan Song
  4. Born Again
  5. Stronger
  6. I Found A Way
  7. Lost Forever
  8. Far From Over
  9. Here For You Tonight
  10. Darkest Night
  11. A Story That You Can Tell

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: March 12th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: