CD review RICKY WARWICK ‘When Life Was Hard and Fast’

The Almighty, Thin Lizzy, Black Star Riders and his solo albums, Ricky Warwick has an impressive musical history which will be enriched by a new chapter this year. ‘When Life Was Hard and Fast’ is the new record that is going to be a highlight of the year for fans of hard rock.

Fans had to wait almost five years for the follow-up to ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy…. And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues’ and now it’s time for Warwick’s fifth solo record to hit the shelves.

‘When Life was Hard and Fast’ was recorded in Los Angels and besides Warwick it was Keith Nelson who was deeply involved in the work process and progress. Not only taking care of the production, Nelson was also part of the songwriting. Warwick and Nelson both have a close connection to pure rock’n’roll and they managed to get this spirit on the album in an exceptional way.

Already the title track has an addictive characteristic that is hard to resist. The sound of Thin Lizzy and the Irish roots are of course present, but never push to the front. That Warwick works lyrically with metaphors becomes obvious with ‘I’d Rather Be Hit’, a song which condemns the inhumanity of politics and politicians. Also interesting is ‘Gunslinger’, a Willy DeVille cover version which leads seamlessly to ‘Never Corner a Rat’. Equipped with a decent portion of punk rock, the song immediately rocks.

A very special moment on Warwick’s newest album is ‘Time Don’t Seem to Matter’. The track was written by Warwick’s eleven years old daughter Pepper and is a father/daughter duet that will makes even the toughest rocker become emotional. And speaking of unusual songs, there’s also ‘Clown of Misery’, created from a demo Warwick sang to his cell phone. One is reminded of Neil Young’s ‘A Letter Home’, considering the imperfect perfection of song and sound.

Warwick delivers with ‘When Life Was Hard and Fast’ a first class and versatile rock album, a rock’n’roll boost that immediately gets into your veins. This is the kind of record you want to listen to over and over again. At least it blocked my record player for quite a while now.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. When Life Was Hard and Fast
  2. You Don’t Love Me 
  3. I’d Rather Be Hit 
  4. Gunslinger 
  5. Never Corner A Rat 
  6. Time Don’t Seem To Matter
  7. Fighting Heart 
  8. I Don’t Feel At Home 
  9. Still Alive 
  10. Clown Of Misery 
  11. You’re My Rock ‘n Roll 

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Hard Rock/ Metal

Release Date EU: February 19th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: