Classics: W.A.S.P. ‘The Headless Children’

At a time when the Internet seemed to be nothing more than a surreal science fiction vision, people had to rely on other media to keep up with the latest news. Radio was one of the channels that had at least something to offer to rock and metal fans. A pioneer was certainly the weekly radio show of the Swiss station DRS 3, which always aired on Wednesdays from 22:00-24:00, if I remember correctly.

Anyway. The guys always had interesting new stuff in their programming, like W.A.S.P. with ‘Blind in Texas’, a song that fascinated right away. A little disappointed by the ‘Inside the Electric Circus’ album, all hopes were on the 1989 release ‘The Headless Children’ and what can I say, Blackie Lawless delivered.

‘The Headless Children’ does not contain any filler. All songs on this longplayer are impressive, which also includes ‘The Real Me’, a cover version of the Pete Townshend song from ‘Quadrophenia’.

One of the undoubtedly best W.A.S.P. songs ever is the epic title track that is with its almost six minutes a real pleasure. The following ‘Thunderhead’, with its unique chorus, is in no way less than the title track. A song that I still like after all these years is ‘The Neutron Bomber’, which combines a certain underlying power along with a melodic quality.

‘The Headless Children’ is an album that documents the evolution of W.A.S.P. well. Still equipped with enough heaviness and edges from the early days, the songwriting is more sophisticated than on the predecessors and is thus the link that connects ‘The Last Command’ and the following milestone ‘The Crimson Idol’. Timeless.


  1. The Herectic (The Lost Child)
  2. The Real Me
  3. The Headless Children
  4. Thunderhead
  5. Mean Man
  6. The Neutron Bomber
  7. Mephisto Waltz
  8. Forever Free
  9. Maneater
  10. Rebel in the F.D.G.

Label: Capitol Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date: April 15th, 1989



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: