CD review VOODOO CIRCLE ‘Locked & Loaded’

The most compelling line-up of Voodoo Circle was certainly the one from 2011 that recorded ‘Broken Heart Syndrome’. Bandleader Alex Beyrodt, singer David Readman, bassist Mat Sinner and drummer Markus Kullmann were the key players for Voodoo Circle’s second album and a decade later, the quartet has now teamed up again.

The four-piece worked on the band’s sixth album which is called ‘Locked & Loaded’. A total of eleven songs made it onto the disc and successfully continues the musical journey of Beyrodt and fellow companions.

Also this time hard rock and melodic metal characterize the musical direction. It starts with ‘Flesh & Bone’, an opener with a Whitesnake-inspired expression. The same also is apparent in ‘Eyes Full of Tears’. Besides these two songs, the album also contains a number of Led Zeppelin references, which can be clearly appreciated with songs like ‘Magic Woman Chile’.

Beyrodt, known as Stratocater guitarist, used this time the complete range of the available guitars to provide the best for each song. This applies also to the title track, where sequencer and fuzz guitar solo blend and turn the song into a true epic anthem.

Voodoo Circle have always delivered good albums and manage to deliver with ‘ Locked & Loaded ‘ a new highlight. The year 2021 starts with ‘Locked & Loaded’ in a very positive way. This album gives hope for a bright new year.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Flesh & Bone
  2. Wasting Time
  3. Magic Woman Chile
  4. Locked & Loaded
  5. Devil With an Angel Smile
  6. Straight For the Heart
  7. Eyes Full of Tears
  8. Devil’s Cross
  9. Trouble in the Midnight
  10. This Song is For You
  11. Children of the Revolution

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: January 15th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: