CD review MARATHON ‘Mark Kelly’s Marathon’

An album like ‘Mark Kelly’s Marathon’ is a treat for mind and soul in times of global hysteria and pandemic. Focussing on the beauty of music and the greatness of well-crafted melodies, Kelly unveils with his solo debut that is a perfect retreat.

Mark Kelly is widely known as keyboarder of Marillion. Kelly joined the iconic prog band in 1985 and what was missing was a solo album with songs penned by the keyboarder. Being a musician for so many years and not having released a solo album must feel like being on a marathon and with ‘Mark Kelly’s Marathon’ the finish-line is crossed.

Together with Guy Vickers, Oliver M. Smith (v), Pete “Woody” Wood (g), John Cordy (g), Henry Rogers (d) and his nephew Conal Kelly (Bass), Mark Kelly recorded ten progressive rock songs, showcasing musical expertise as well as a great sense for melodies. From the starting point, the ‘Amelia’-triple to the final chapter of the album (‘Brief History’), Kelly brings all his experience to the plate. These songs shine bright in November darkness and help to escape into the dream world of sounds for a while.

A song, being lyrically very relevant these days, is ‘This Time’. Addressing long-distance relationships is a topic that became in 2020 an even bigger thing with people having very limited possibilities to meet. It’s about relations growing digitally or break-up and it’s about time for yourself being as important as time together.

‘Mark Kelly’s Marathon’ is an album that allows a deep-dive into the world of soundscapes that fascinates. It’s the colorful aspect of music being the shining element of this longplayer, music that puts a good song into focus.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


01. i) Shoreline
02. ii) Whistling at the Sea
03. iii) 13 Bones
04. When I Fell
05. This Time
06. Puppets

Twenty Fifty One
07. i) Search
08. ii) Arrival
09. iii) Trail of Tears
10. iv) Brief History

Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: