CD review JADED HEART ‘Stand Your Ground’

German melodic metal group Jaded Heart release longplayers already since 1994 when the guys premiered with ‘Inside Out’. Many years and releases passed by and after having unleashed ‘Devil’s Gift’ in 2018 the time is right for new musical delivery and here it is. ‘Stand Your Ground’ is the name of Jaded Heart’s 14 studio album that helps to lighten the grey November days.

The new album comes with a novelty. For the first time in all the years in metal, Jaded Heart deliver an album without the support of keyboards. The idea grew over time and with ‘Stand Your Ground’ the band moved from idea to realization. Taking such an adventurous step means a different way of approach for the new songs and it also demands an adjusted way of working.

Building their ‘new’ sound on two guitars, bass, drum and vocals gives the new album a heavier sound without losing the typical Jaded Heart melodies. The 13 songs on the album are renowned grooving melodic metal tracks, a bit harder than what we know from the past. For me, the band took the right decision since sing-a-long parts are still present and headbanging became even easier.

You find your way into the album right away. Each of the songs is equipped with hooks and melodies, that blossom during the first spin of the album. There are few edges here and there, interrupting the flow a bit, but better that than a polished melodic metal release without identity.

‘Stand Your Ground’ is a dynamic and vital melodic metal album that proves that this genre can also handle releases without the density-adding sound of keyboards. All in all a bold step that’s successfully implemented.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Inception
  2. Stand Your Ground
  3. One Last Time
  4. Reap What You Sow
  5. Break Free
  6. Hero To Zero
  7. Kill Your Masters
  8. Embrace A Demon
  9. Hopelessly Addicted
  10. Self Destruction
  11. Stay
  12. Lost In Confusion
  13. Inside A Hurricane

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: