CD review PYRAMAZE ‘Epitaph’

Danish power metal outfit Pyramaze release their sixth studio album, which is also their first one for AFM. Three years after having released ‘Contingent’, the sextet recorded another 12 songs, all with roots in heavy metal and power metal.

Pyramaze got into the spotlight of metal in 2008 with their ‘Immortal’ album. One of the reasons for having a wider reach was that fact of Matt Barlow (ex-Iced Earth) being responsible for the vocals. Having such singer on board always guarantees attention and since the music was well-crafted too, Pyramaze could more than benefit from this move.

In the meantime we are many years further and after having sailed through some rough sea after ‘Immortal’, Pyramze release ‘Epitath’. The Danes offer again well-done melodic power metal. Never shy of a catchy melody, the sextet has enough firepower to sail around the scary cliffs of standardized mainstream. It seems like all songs build up to the ending of the album. Pyramaze saves the big knockout for the very end. ‘The Time Traveller’ is the 12 minutes closer, a cinematic song that shows the songwriting capabilities of the band. And if this wouldn’t be enough it’s Matt Barlow himself having a guest appearance, which benefits the song a lot.

To sum up. ‘Epitaph’ is a mature power metal album, equipped with a good sound and songs that are sophisticated without being too complex. These songs are the melodic sunshine during rainy winter days.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Epitaph
  2. A Stroke of Magic
  3. Steal My Crown
  4. Knights in Shining Armour
  5. Bird of Prey
  6. Your Last Call
  7. Particle
  8. Indestructible
  9. Transcendence
  10. Final Hour
  11. World Foregone
  12. The Time Traveller

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Power Metal

Release Date EU: November 13th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: