CD review VOIVOD ‘Lost Machine – Live’

Live albums gain momentum these days and I don’t think that that anybody is surprised. This time, it’s Sci-Fi trashers Voivod that have a live release in the starting box, bringing a live show to your home that took place in Québec City, Canada on July 13th, 2019.

‘Lost Machine – Live’ is Voivod’s first live album in nine years and focussed with four song from ‘The Wake’ on the most recent studio release from the Canadian metal veterans. Also ‘Post Society’, the opener of the concert, and ‘Fall’ haven’t been part of earlier live albums which means that there is enough new live material to discover.

The rest of the setlist is pretty much a ‘best of’ with classics penned by the prog thrash powerhouse. ‘Voivod’, taken from the debut, is part of the show as well as ‘Overreaction’ from the legendary ‘Dimension Hatröss’ album. With ‘Astronomy Domine’ also Voivod’s legendary interpretation of the Pink Floyd classic has been performed and the oppressive vibe of this cover version still gives goosebumps.

‘Lost Machine – Live’ is a good way to bridge the difficult days without live shows. It’s a good summary of Voivod’s greatest songs and offers enough good stuff to make this release interesting not only for fans.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Post Society
  2. Psychic Vacuum
  3. Obsolete Beings
  4. The Prow
  5. Iconspiracy
  6. Into the Hypercube
  7. The End of Dormancy
  8. Overreaction
  9. Always Moving
  10. Fall
  11. The Lost Machine
  12. Astronomy Domine
  13. Voivod

Label: Century Media

Genre: Progressive Metal

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: