CD review LOUDBLAST ‘Manifesto’

The waiting time for ‘Manifesto’ cannot be described as short, as it was in 2014 that the guys released their latest studio album to date. ‘Burial Ground’ was released six years ago and with the exception of a live release in 2017 it became rather quiet. Now, the death metal protagonists are returning with ‘Manifesto’.

Loundblast, that’s still the long time companions Stéphane Buriez and Hervé Conquerel together with Jérômoe Point-Canovas and the newest member, bassist Frédéric Leclercq.

The four of them start the album in respectable pace with their ‘Todestrieb’. Loudblast don’t give the listener much time to get into this album. ‘Todestrieb’ kicks in the door rather than knocking and those who think that ‘Unit 731’ is a moment to take a breather are mistaken. On the contrary, the tempo is still increasing and the blast continues.

But what Loudblast also appreciate are the longer songs like ‘Invoking to Justify’. An atmospheric but sinister beginning gives already the idea of things not staying that calm and after a minute the riff inferno is exploding again. Next to the uptempo outburst some slower moments are weaved in the song as well, breaks and twists that make ‘Invoking to Justify’ a little highlight.

The same is the case with the six-minute closing track ‘Infamy Be to You’. Doom-paced death metal riffs crawl out of the speakers in slo-mo, which doesn’t take away any of the intensity. Whoever expects a break to highspeed will be disappointed. This sonic steamroller rolls as slowly as it does relentlessly towards the end of this album.

‘Manifesto’ is the hellish return of Loudblast. It feels like the new guys added an extra dynamic that can be listened to on Loudblast’s newest offer, a record that shows no mercy.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Todestrieb
  2. Relentless Horror
  3. Erasing Reality
  4. The Promethean Fire
  5. Preaching Spiritual Infirmity
  6. Invoking to Justify
  7. Festering Pyre
  8. Into the Greatest of Unknowns
  9. Solace in Hell
  10. Infamy Be to You

Label: Listenable Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: