GHØSTKID is the brainchild of former Eskimo Callboy frontman Sebastian ‘Sushi’ Biesler and in different to his ex-bandmates, Biesler establishes with GHØSTKID a sound that’s far away from soulless pop-/electrocore.

GHØSTKID take the inspiration from various sources, starting with metal and metalcore to pop and nu metal. The album opens with the wild und untamned ‘FØØL’ before the pounding ‘START A FIGHT’ takes over, a sonic battering ram. Some nu metal roots manifest themselves here too, followed by an atmospheric and calmer track, entitled ‘SHARKS’. The song has certainly enough potential for making the band popular outside the fields of metal, something I can say over ‘DRTY’ too. Some catchiness is part of this song but it’s the increasing heaviness and the hoarse screams by the singer/guitarist more focussing on fans of modern metal. And in case you wonder why you are reminded of bands like Emigrate while listening to these songs, it has a simple explanation. Sky van Hoff, also now from his work for Rammstein and Emigrate, was at the helm and gave ‘GHØSTKID’ the right punch.

Another two songs I would like to mention also – ‘SUPERNOVA” and ‘CRØWN’. The former includes a guest appearance of Heaven Shall Burn frontman Marcus Bischoff and is a tune with brutal outbursts and clean parts, not to forget the mighty middle-section with a growl duel between Bischoff and Biesler. A right-into-the-face expression comes with ‘CRØWN’. No less that Mille Petrozza contributes with his hoarse vocals, a well-done counterpart to the melodic and clean parts in the chorus.

‘GHØSTKID’ is a debut album, driven by an enthusiastic ‘Sushi’ Biesler, who follows his musical heart. This debut doesn’t leer at commercial success and by that, features songs that have the potential to reach a wider fanbase. Although not making the world turn into the other direction, the album still contains a certain level of innovation and spreads the feeling of being real and authentic. Interersting.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. FØØL
  4. DRTY
  5. THIS IS NØT HØLLYWØØD (feat. Timi Hendrix)
  6. YØU&I
  7. SUPERNØVA (feat. Marcus Bischoff)
  8. CRØWN (feat. Mille Petrozza)
  10. ZERØ
  11. THIS IS NØT HØLLYWØØD (feat. Johnny 3 Tears)

Label: Century Media

Genre: Melodic Metalcore

Release Date EU: November 13th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: