CD review VENOM PRISON ‘Primeval’

Is ‘Primeval’ a new Venom Prison album? Yes and no. ‘Primeval’ is a retrospective that casts some light on the early days of the band from South Wales. The quintet started in 2014 and it was a few months later that the first delivery waited in line to be released.

‘Defy the Tyrant’ was the first EP, unleashed by the quintet. It’s a five songs comprising release that, nine months later, was followed by another EP. ‘The Primal Chaos’ contains four songs and both releases together are the core for ‘Primeval’.

The album features all the nine songs, re-recorded, re-mixed and re-mastered. This adds extra power to each of the nine songs and let them sound more differentiated at the same time.

Next to these early tunes, the band placed two new songs on the tracklist of ‘Primeval’. It goes without saying that ‘Defiant to the Will of God’ and ‘Slayer of Holofernes’ are ruthless metal attacks, although done with a good sense for breaks and twists. The calmer section of ‘Defiant to the Will of God’ is such a moment of the band being able to do more than just going full speed.

All in all we can conclude that ‘Primeval’ looks back in time and hereby is a good addition for fans of the band that started with the full-length debut. With two new songs, Venom Prison give also an outlook into the future and all together is certainly a solid power pack that might not provide surprises but still makes fun.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Usurper of the Throne
  2. Life Suffer
  3. Mortal Abomination
  4. Path of Exile
  5. Defy the Tyrnat
  6. Babylon the Whore
  7. Daemon Vulgaris
  8. Narcotic
  9. The Primal Chaos
  10. Defiant to the Will of God
  11. Slayer of Holofernes

Label: Prosthetic Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: October 9th, 2020



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: