CD review HEXX ‘Entangled in Sin’

Hexx’s reference album is the 1986 release ‘Under the Spell’ and the new longplayer from the California-based powerhouse will not cause a change. ‘Entangled in Sin’, so the title of the record, is the new release forged by Hexx and although it can’t reach the milestone it’s still an excellent Metal record.

Hexx disappeared from the scene in the ’90s after having had a successful era in the previous decade. The band returned in 2013 and it took four years to work on the anticipated next longplayer from the Bay Area band. Driven by Dan Watson and John Schafer the line-up gained stability with bass player Don Wood being the newest member to the team.

As the previous album, also ‘Entangled in Sin’ focusses on Power Metal and showcases a band the lifted the bar compared to ‘Wrath the Reaper’. Hexx invested a bit more time into the new album, also focussing on details, which leads to a powerful and strong Metal record.

‘Watching Me Burn’ leads-off the album with a powerful riff attack. The song is an excellent start into ‘Entangled in Sin’ with the title track being the next riff assault. The tune is another example for Hexx knowing how to write a cool Metal track. A blistering solo part and hoarse vocal by Eddy Vega enrich ‘Entangled in Sin’, riddled with some references to the ‘Under the Spell’ era too. ‘Power Mad’ reflects the trademarks even stronger, vaulting fans back to the late ’80s. Hexx step by step finds back to their old strength, which is good news.

The quintet delivers with ‘Entangled in Sin’ an album that can easily handle comparisons with ‘Wrath of the Reaper’ and this longplayer is a next step towards the great ‘Under the Spell’-days. Fans of fierce Power Metal and US Metal enthusiasts should listen to the album. It’s worth it.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Watching Me Burn
  2. Entangled In Sin
  3. Vultures Gather Round
  4. Beautiful Lies
  5. Power Mad
  6. Internal Enemy
  7. Strive The Grave
  8. Touch Of The Creature
  9. Wise To The Ways World
  10. Over But The Bleeding

Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: September 25th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: