CD review RAMOS ‚My Many Sides‘

Josh Ramos worked on his solo debut and if you asked yourself where you met the name earlier, here‘s the answer. Ramos has a history with Harddline, The Storm and Two Fires.

Knowing about the importance of a great singer, being one part of the success of an album, Ramos could convince some of the best frontmen in Rock and Melodic Metal to support him in realizing his musical dream. Eric Martin (Mr. Big), Danny Vaughn (Tyketto), Harry Hess (Harem Scarem), Joe Retta (Heaven & Earth), Terry Ilous (XYZ), John Bisaha (The Babys), Tony Harnell (ex-TNT), and Tony Mills (ex-Shy, TNT) enrich the album with their unique voices and each of them contributes successfully to ‚My Many Sides‘.

‚My Many Sides‘, so the title of this longplayer, makes use of the different preferences of the singer. To me, the songs with Joe Retta are clearly the highlights. These are hard rocking tracks with the smashing opener ‚Today is the Day‘ being a first statement. ‚Same Ol‘ Fears‘ takes a similar direction. the smoothly grooving rocker has just the right level of firepower.

But also the gentle tones on ‚Forefather‘, with vocals by Eric Martin, are well-done. This touching songs has a lot of soul and doesn‘t belong the off the shelf ballads. There is nothing to discuss about the vocal capabilities of Harem Scarem‘s Harry Hess and ‚I‘ve Been Waiting‘ isn‘t a bad song. It just misses the corner for a solid strike and walks too much on worn out paths. The same goes for ‚Immortal‘. Tony Harnell does his best and still the song doesn‘t belong to the highlights on ‚My Many Ways‘. With all the singers in mind, the album includes an instrumental too. ‚Ceremony‘ is the title of a track that puts the spotlight on Ramos guitar play. The song is build on Ramos gently singing guitar rather than furious neo-classic Malmsteen-ish solos, which fits the context of the album very well.

Josh Ramos obviously has many musical sides and those are reflected on his solo debut. Enriched by great vocalists, the axeman can show all of his musical sides, some really thrilling and some more following the standard protocols of Rock. This album is nice to listen to, but also doesn‘t really stand out. Rock solid, I would say.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Today’s the Day (Joe Retta on vocals)
  2. Unbroken (Terry Ilous on vocals)
  3. Blameless Blue (Danny Vaughn on vocals)
  4. Immortal (Tony Harnell on vocals)
  5. Same Ol’ Fears (Joe Retta on vocals)
  6. I’ve Been Waiting (Harry Hess on vocals)
  7. Moving On (John Bisaha on vocals)
  8. Forefather (Eric Martin on vocals)
  9. Too Good To Be True (Joe Retta on vocals)
  10. Ceremony (Instrumental)
  11. All Over Now (Joe Retta on vocals)
  12. I’m Only Human (Tony Mills on vocals)

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: August 7th, 2020

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: