CD review HELLHAMMER ‘Apocalyptic Raids’ – reissue

The range of music, penned by Tom G. Warrior, couldn’t be summed up better that with two releases in 2020. In May this year Triptykon, with the Metropole Orkest Reqiuem, will release a live recording, done at Roadburn 2019. A few weeks prior to this release it is another great album, that will take Metal fans back to the starting point of Extreme Metal.

In 1982 Hellhammer entered the scene and after three demos, an EP entitled ‘Apocalyptic Raids’ has been unleashed via Noise Records.

Hellhammer’s music was a distraction in a positive way. Against the usual paths at the time, Hellhammer went for puristic fierceness. In an anarchic and uncompromising manner the band created an archaic sound that is still fascinated by its intensity. After more than three decades Noise Records, together with BMG, brings new life to the early days of Extreme Metal.

‘Apocalyptic Raids’ celebrates a revival as a re-issue version, featuring the songs from the original EP plus two songs that have been released as being part of the ‘Death Metal’-split-compilation from 1984. ‘Triumph of Death’, with its screams pierces through marrows and bones, is still a milestone when it comes to music that challenges existing frames. The fact, that nowadays the track has the same intensity as 36 years ago shows, how much ahead of time Hellhammer has been with their music.

V. Santura, member of Triptykon, remastered the six songs for this re-release that includes next to the music an expanded booklet, rare photos and new liner notes.

‘Apocalyptic Raids’ is a timeless milestone, featuring music that still acts as inspiration for many bands. It’s music that put the foundation in place for Celtic Frost and Triptykon, being an ignition to push Extreme Metal to a next level.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. The Third Of The Storms (Evoked Damnation)
  2. Massacra
  3. Triumph Of Death
  4. Horus / Aggressor
  5. Revelations Of Doom
  6. Messiah

Label: Noise Records / BMG

Genre: Extreme Metal

Release Date EU: April 24th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: