CD review THE 69 EYES ‚West End‘

(7/10) ‘West End’, that’s album number 12 in The 69 Eyes’ so far three decades lasting band history. Finlands gritty rocker No.1 recorded eleven new song, all dark Rock tunes. Sometimes it’s a bit of Billy Idol that shimmers through (‘27 & Done’) while the sound of the mighty Sisters Of Mercy is present too and more than once. ‘Burn Witch Burn’ and the straightforward ‘Outsider’ show some cross references and ‘Black Orchid’ builds on the same roots also.

A track that breaks the pattern ‘Last House of the Light’. The song belongs to the metallic moments on the album, starting with the great riff in the beginning. Supported by a strong bass-line the song is a highlight on the album with Wednesday 13 contributing to this gloomy anthem. Talking about guest appearances, it’s no less than Cradle Of Filths main-man Danii Filth enriching the powerful opener ‘Two Horns Up’. Jyrki69’s and Filth’s vocal harmonize pretty well, making the start of the album to a firing one.

Dark romance is the overarching vibe with the calmer ‘Change’ and also ‘Hell Has No Mercy’, the closer of the album, is a slower paced song, this time with a dark The Doors swing embedded.

‘West Side’ is a longplayer that catches you with contrasts of catchy melodies and dark vibe. The 69 Eyes’ new album isn’t a masterpiece of innovation. It’s a record that lives by a great sense for melodies that put a dark spell on you.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Two Horns Up 
  2. 27 & Done 
  3. Black Orchid 
  4. Change
  5. Burn Witch Burn
  6. Cheyenna
  7. The Last House On The Left
  8. Death & Desire
  9. Outsiders
  10. Be Here Now
  11. Hell Has No Mercy

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Dark Metal

Release Date EU: September 13th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑