CD review BLACKRAIN ‘Dying Breed’

(6/10) French rockers Blackrain surf with their new album ‘Dying Breed’ on the sleaze wave and they for sure manage to stay on the board. Since 2006, the guys, hailing from the French Alps, did release five albums up to date and number six is on the way. A solid ride.

Blackrain’s newest longplayer includes ten songs and it brings some good time Sleaze Rock right to you. Bands like Mötley Crüe and Ratt delivered the blueprint and songs like ‘Hellfire’ don’t even try to hide the source of inspiration. The ‘If Looks Could Kill’/’Wild Side’-inspired riff speaks for itself. Blackrain builds on the sound of their idols, coming from a time when Sleaze Rock was heading towards a first peak. 

Although the album has a dynamic and songs are not causing earache it’s the final touch when it comes to uniqueness that would have helped to lift the record from standard too outstanding. It feels like the handbrakes are still on and the final great idea is missing. Also ballads of the shelf, like ‘All Angels Have Gone’ don’t help to score and it is ‘Rock Radio’ giving the impression of having heard this kind of songs many times before.

I doubt if Blackrain manage to stand out when it comes to all the new releases, aiming for the same target group. Competition, like Crashdïet, is right in the starting blocks with an album that has the potential to rock the world. 



  1. Dying Breed
  2. Hellfire
  3. Blast Me Up
  4. Nobody Can Change
  5. Like Me
  6. All Angels Have Gone
  7. We are the Mayhem
  8. Rock Radio
  9. Public Enemy
  10. A Call From the Inside

Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Sleaze Metal

Release Date EU: September 13th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑