CD review HATRIOT ‘From Days Onto Darkness’

(8/10) During the years, before returning to Exodus, Zetro Souza was busy with establishing a new band, together with his two sons. The name of this outfit – Hatriot. Next to Zetro the band included at the time Nick and Cody Souza, as well as Kosta V. on guitar and Miguel Esparza, the line-up that recorded that band’s debut, which was released in 2013.

Hatriot’s Thrash Metal is very much inspired by the Bay Area sound, which is, knowing Zetro’s musical history, not a big surprise. It’s a lot of Exodus that shimmers through with most of the songs and it’s Zetro’s voice that emphasized thing.

Six years after having unveiled the debut Hatriot returns with their third longplayer. After having dealt with several line-up changes, including Zetro Souza focussing entirely on Exodus, it’s up to his two sons to keep Hatriot in business. Now it’s Cody that took over vocals and the biggest question is, if he would be able to follow in the steps of his father.

Already with the opener ‘One Less Hell’ it’s crystal clear that he can. Like father, like son. Cody’s vocals sound very much like his father’s ones. Also his singing comes with edges and some hoarse screams. Next to his role as a bassist he fills in the role of Hatriot’s frontman very well and ensures a good continuation of what started in 2013.

When it comes to the songs on ‘From Days Onto Darkness’ the band picks it up where they left off with ‘Dawn of the New Centurion’. Hatriot roots their music still in oldschool Bay Area Thrash Metal, which they do in a good fashion. The talent of the quartet is undeniable, leading to furious wrecking balls like ‘World, Flesh & Devil’ and ‘Delete’. Blistering solo parts enriches each of the songs and the fact that six out of nine songs are beyond 5 minutes length shows the creativity and songwriting skills of the four piece band.

‘From Days Unto Darkness’ took a while to be ready for release. Circumstances lead to a waiting time of four years but it was worth it. Hatriot’ third full-length longplayer is a dynamic and aggressive Thrash Metal release that can be truly recommended to any fan of Bay Area Thrash Metal.



  1. One Less Hell
  2. Daze Into Darkness
  3. Carnival of Execution
  4. Organic Remains
  5. World, Flesh & Devil
  6. Frankenstein Must Be Destroyed
  7. In the Mind of the Mad
  8. Delete
  9. Ethereal Nightmare

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Thrash metal

Release Date EU: July 26th, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: